Balnea Spa

The overall view propounds several interventions spread over the entire site; a new reception area (Pavillon des arbres), the expansion of the main pavilion as well as a new relaxation area (Pavillon du lac). The overall composition aims to make the circulation more fluid on site, enhance the customers experience, divide the less compatible functions, and uncover the relaxation spaces to the surrounding nature.

The Pavillon des arbres (Tree Pavilion), a wooden prism on stilts, delicately inserts itself into the forest while acting as a pivot between the existing buildings to which it is connected by walkways. The walkways meander through the trees and widen at certain strategic points, offering users relaxation areas. The reorganized circulation allows for an intimate journey. Particular attention was paid to the conservation of the trees surrounding this intervention. The exterior walkway is reminiscent of a unifying forecourt. In addition to its reception role, this building combines a boutique, administrative offices, and a lounge area.

The main pavilion, where the reception area was previously located, was expanded to complete a modular and adjustable dining room for the restaurant. It can be converted into an event room, allowing the possibility for retreats and corporate meetings.

The Pavillon du Lac (Lake Pavilion) offers a peaceful haven for guests. It hosts a rest room, a sauna and a covered terrace protected from the unwanted view by a large haystack. A series of outdoor terraces and paths along the shoreline complete this three-season facility.

Consistent with the overall vision, the different interventions are treated in a uniform manner in terms of materiality. The continuity of the interior spaces towards the exterior reinforces the notion of permeability with the natural environment. Simple openwork wooden slats give depth to the envelope while lightening the volumes whose pavilion character is affirmed.

Balnea Spa

Lauréat Grand Prix du Design 2016 | Prix centre de bien-être, d'entraînement et récréatif

Finaliste aux Prix d'excellence de l'OAQ 2015

La vision d’ensemble propose plusieurs interventions réparties sur l’ensemble du site; un nouvel accueil (Pavillon des arbres), l’agrandissement du pavillon principal ainsi qu’un nouvel espace de détente (Pavillon du lac). La composition d’ensemble vise à rendre la circulation plus fluide sur le site, bonifier l’offre aux clients, séparer les fonctions moins compatibles et ouvrir davantage les espaces de détente sur la nature environnante.

Le Pavillon des arbres, un prisme de bois sur pilotis, s’insère délicatement dans la forêt tout en jouant le rôle de pivot entre les bâtiments existants auxquels il est relié par des passerelles. Celles-ci serpentent à travers les arbres et s’élargissent à certains endroits stratégiques, offrant aux usagers des aires de détente. La circulation ainsi réorganisée permet un parcours intimiste. Une attention particulière fut portée à la conservation des arbres entourant cette intervention. L’emmarchement extérieur rappelle les parvis rassembleurs. En plus de son rôle d’accueil, ce bâtiment intègre une boutique, des bureaux administratifs et un espace lounge.

Le pavillon principal, où se situait auparavant l’accueil, fut agrandi afin d’intégrer une salle à manger modulable et flexible pour le restaurant. Celle-ci peut se transformer en salle événementielle, offrant la possibilité de retraites et de réunions corporatives pour les groupes.

Le Pavillon du lac, telle une folie, offre un refuge paisible aux clients. Il abrite une salle de repos, un sauna et une terrasse couverte protégée des regards par une grande claie. Une série de terrasses extérieures et de sentiers implantés le long des berges complètent cette installation trois saisons.

Cohérentes avec la vision d’ensemble, les différentes interventions sont traitées de manière uniforme quant à la matérialité. La continuité des espaces intérieurs vers l’extérieur renforce la notion de perméabilité avec l’environnement naturel. De simples lamelles de bois ajourées donnent une profondeur à l’enveloppe tout en allégeant les volumes dont le caractère pavillonnaire est affirmé.