Förena Cité Thermale

She is timeless; She is inspired by history while affirming its longevity.

She welcomes and guides the visitor in universes combining contrasts and discoveries.

She is inspired by the landscape; She imbues us with local resources.

She inspires relaxation and contemplation; She leaves plenty of room for the imagination …

Surrounded by rare agricultural land still operating near the metropolitan area, the opportunity to conceive a commercial project respectful of the history and contextual resources was seized by the designers.

Inspired by the hamlet analogy, the pavilion layout adapts to the natural site topography. From the road, the volume forms a clean line in the landscape, concealing the amplitude of the Cité below.

The durability of the ensemble and the concern for long-term coherence have contributed to the development of an immutable architecture that can adapt to different development scenarios. Monochromatic and prismatic, the natural cedar wood volumes are punctuated by black boxes; vestibules welcoming the visitor and guiding him in his various discoveries and experiences. Each pavilion can thus offer different atmospheres within a cohesive and understandable architectural framework.

A vernacular nod to the farm buildings of the surrounding farmland, the silver cedar siding recalls the site’s history while contributing to the use of local and sustainable resources. With development objectives that will make FÖRENA the most important spa in Canada, all facilities meet universal accessibility criteria.

The pavilions, with their geometrically clear openings, become mediums for connecting to the environment and help create a comfortable place where natural light, inherent ventilation and superb views are essential to the feeling of the landscape synergy.

The use of local resources is also integrated into the site’s design. The site and the ponds granite stones were all selected directly from the nearby quarry. The site water management strategies and the vast parking lot favor bio-retention and drainage ditches. The old agricultural ditches were mostly preserved and integrated into the new green infrastructures, so as not to modify the natural water network, not to deplete the water table and ultimately not to affect the crops and the ecosystem of the neighboring plots.

With its exemplary coherence between commercial vocation and environmental integration, FÖRENA can now serve as a benchmark for peri-urban developments which sorely lack a lasting and sustainable vision.

Förena Cité Thermale

Lauréat Prix de l'Ordre des Architectes du Québec 2020

 

Elle est intemporelle; Elle s’inspire de l’histoire tout en affirmant sa pérennité.

Elle accueille et guide le visiteur dans des univers alliant contrastes et découvertes.

Elle s’inspire du paysage; Elle nous imprègne des ressources locales.

Elle inspire la détente et la contemplation; Elle laisse toute la place à l’imagination…

 

Entourée des rares terres agricoles encore exploitées à proximité de la région métropolitaine, l’opportunité de concevoir un projet commercial respectueux de l’histoire et des ressources contextuelles fut saisie par les concepteurs.

Inspirée de l’analogie du hameau; l’implantation pavillonnaire s’adapte à la topographie naturelle du site. Depuis la route, le volume forme une ligne épurée dans le paysage, dissimulant l’amplitude de la Cité se trouvant en contrebas.

La pérennité de l’ensemble et le souci d’une cohérence à long terme ont contribué au développement d’une architecture immuable pouvant s’adapter à différents scénarios de développement. Monochromes et prismatiques, les volumes de bois de cèdre naturel sont ponctués de boîtes noires; des vestibules accueillant le visiteur et le guidant dans ses différentes découvertes et expériences. Chaque pavillon peut donc offrir des thématiques différentes dans un cadre architectural cohésif et compréhensible.

Clin d’œil vernaculaire aux bâtiments de ferme des terres agricoles voisines, le revêtement de cèdre argenté rappelle l’histoire du lieu tout en contribuant à l’utilisation de ressources locales et durables. Visant des objectifs de développement qui feront de FÖRENA la plus importante Cité thermale au Canada, toutes les installations satisfont les critères d’accessibilité universelle.

Ciselés d’ouvertures aux géométries franches, les pavillons deviennent des médiums de connexion à l’environnement et participent à créer un lieu confortable où lumière naturelle, ventilation inhérente et superbes points de vue forment des incontournables au sentiment d’interaction avec le paysage.

La mise à profit des ressources locales s’intègre aussi dans les aménagements du site. Les pierres granitiques du site et des bassins ont toutes été sélectionnées directement à la carrière voisine. Les stratégies de gestions des eaux du site et du vaste stationnement favorisent la bio rétention ainsi que les noues drainantes. Les anciens fossés agricoles ont été majoritairement conservés et intégrés aux nouvelles infrastructures vertes; de manière à ne pas modifier le réseau hydrique naturel, ne pas appauvrir la nappe phréatique et ultimement, ne pas affecter les récoltes et l’écosystème des parcelles voisines.

En cohérence exemplaire entre vocation commerciale et intégration environnementale, FÖRENA peut aujourd’hui servir de référence aux développements commerciaux périurbains qui manquent cruellement de vision pérenne et durable.